Jump to content

Change
Photo

INTRODUCTION TO HALAL

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1
♥JaNNaH♥

♥JaNNaH♥

    Honorary Algerian

  • Moderators
  • 5,092 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:London

Current mood:
http://www.afic.com.au/Halal.htm

In The Name of Allah,

The Compassionate, The Merciful.

Praise be to Allah, Lord of The Universe,

And Peace and Prayers be upon

His Prophet and Messenger.

...............................................................................................................

They ask thee what is Lawful to them (as food)

Say: Lawful unto you Are (all) things good and pure:

And what ye have taught Your trained hunting animals

(To catch) in the manner Directed to you by Allah:

Eat what they catch for you,

But pronounce the name Of Allah over it:

and fear Allah; for Allah is Swift In taking account

Al Ma?idah, Verse 4

...............................................................................................................

INTRODUCTION TO HALAL

Halal is a Quranic word meaning lawful or permitted. In reference to food, it is the dietary standard, as prescribed in the Quran the Muslim scripture. General Quranic guidance dictates that all foods are Halal except those that are specifically mentioned as Haram (unlawful or Prohibited). All foods are made lawful according to Muslim Scripture, The Glorious Qur-an;

O ye who believe! Eat of the good things wherewith We have provided you and render thanks to Allah, if it is He whom we worship (Qur-an Chapter II Verse 172).

The unlawful foods are specifically mentioned in the Glorius Qur-an, in the following verses;

He hath forbidden you only carrion and blood and swine flesh and that which hath been immolated to any other than Allah.. ( Quran Chapter II , Verse 173)

Forbidden unto you (for food) are: carrion, and blood, and swine flesh, and that which hath been dedicated unto any other than Allah, and the strangled, and the dead through beating, and the dead through falling from a height, and that hath been killed by the gorging of horns, and the devoured of wild beasts saving that which ye make lawful and that which hath been immolated to idols, and that ye swear by the divining arrows.

This is an abomination? (Chapter V, Verse 3)

Consumption of alcohol and other methods of intoxication are prohibited to following guidance in Qur-an;

O ye who believe! Strong drinks and games of chance, and idols and divining arrows are only an infamy of Satan?s handiwork, leave it aside in order that ye may succeed (Chapter V, Verse 90).

Meat is the only regulated of the food groups, Not only are blood, pork, and the meat of dead animals or those immolated to other than Allah strongly prohibited, it is also required that the halal animals be slaughtered while pronouncing the name of Allah at the time of slaughter.

Eat of that over which the name of Allah hath been mentioned, if ye are believers in his revelations (Chapter VI Verse 119).

And eat not of that whereon Allah?s name hath not been mentioned, for lo! it is abomination. Lo! The devils do inspire their minions to dispute with you. But if ye obey them, ye will be in truth idolators (Chapter VI Verse 122).

Islam is not a mere religion. It is a way of life with rules and manners governing every facet of life. Since food is an important part of daily life, food laws carry a special significance.

Muslims are expected to eat for survival, to maintain good health and not to live for eating. In Islam, eating is considered to be a matter of worship of God like prayer, fasting, alms-giving and other religious activities.

Muslim eats to maintain a strong and healthy physique in order to be able to contribute his knowledge and effort for the welfare of the society. Muslims are supposed to make an effort to obtain the best quality nutritionally.

It is mentioned in a Hadith that the Du?aa (prayer) of a person is rejected by

Allah if his food is haraam. Another Hadith states that Jahannam (dirt-fire) is more deserving of the flesh which has been nourished with haraam.

The basic principle is that all things created by God are permitted, with a few exceptions that are specifically prohibited.

To make lawful and unlawful is the right of God alone. No human being, no matter how pious or powerful, may take this into his hands. Falsely representing unlawful as lawful is prohibited. It is unlawful to legalise God?s prohibitions by excuses.

Prohibiting what is permitted by God and permitting what is prohibited by God is similar to ascribing partners with God.

The reasons for the prohibition is due to impurity and harmfulness. Good intentions do not make the unlawful acceptable.

That is permitted is sufficient and what is prohibited is then harmful, God prohibited only things that are harmful while providing better alternatives.

HALAL CONCEPT

Within the Islamic religion, a strong emphasis is placed on cleanliness - both spiritually and in the context of food and drink. For a food or drink product to be approved for consumption it must conform to the Islamic dietary laws as specified in the Qur'an, the Hadith (sayings) of the Prophet Muhammad, his Sunnah (tradition) and in the Fiqh (understanding) of the Islamic Jurists: Hanafi, Shafi', Maliki and Hambali. The Qur'an has numerous injunctions instructing Muslims to choose and consume good and wholesome foodstuffs.

In the selection of food and drink, Islam has laid down three very important guidelines, namely;

Whether the consumption of the foodstuff is prohibited by Allah,
Whether the foodstuff is obtained through Halal or Haram means, and
Whether or not the material is harmful to health.
There are several factors that determine the Halal/Haram status of a particular foodstuff. Amongst others, it is dependent on its nature, how it was processed and where it originated from.

As an example, any pig product is considered Haram because the material itself is Haram. Whereas beef from an animal that has not been slaughtered according to Islamic rites would still be considered Haram.

Also Haram is food that has been stolen or acquired through unethical means. Islam also prohibits the usage of any materials that are detrimental to the spiritual or mental well-being of a person, such as alcoholic drinks and drugs.

The concept of Halal in Islam has very specific motives;

To preserve the purity of religion
To safeguard the Islamic mentality
To preserve life
To safeguard property
To safeguard future generations
To maintain self-respect and integrity.
HALAL

In general every food is considered lawful in Islam unless it is specially prohibited by the Qu?ran or the Hadith. By official definition, Halal foods are those that are:

Free from any component that Muslims are prohibited from consuming according to Islamic law.
Processed, made, produced, manufactured and or stored using utensils, equipment and/or machinery that have been cleansed according to Islamic law.
Animal Kingdom:

This includes land animals and marine animals. All freshwater and saltwater animals (those which live in water all the time) are permitted unless they are harmful to health.

There is no requirement to slaughter the marine animals.

The Plant Kingdom:

All products derived from plants are lawful for Muslim consumption except when fermented to contain alcohol, or when containing intoxicants or ingredients otherwise harmful to humans.

The Mineral Kingdon:

Generally safe substances derived from mineral or petroleum sources are Halal except those which might become intoxicating or those which pose a health hazard.

Biotechnology and Genetic Engineering in Halal Foods:

Biotechnology and bioengineering have started to reshape the food production, questions are being asked about the permissibility of foods produced using this technique.

Islam is a viable religion for all times and such issues are being reviewed on a case to case basis by the Muslim scholars. Biotechnology covers a wide range of biological science activities and may lead to a large number of different applications for the food industry and our food supply.

Bacterial Fermentation and their products:

Many useful products can be made by having bacteria produce them in fermentation tanks. Muslim religion is concerned with the actual components of these fermentation vats.

Fermentation process has been used to produce cheese, bread, fermented milk, vinegar and many other products for the millennia. Muslims consider the fermentation process to be useful for food production.

It is the use of product thus produced that is permitted or prohibited according to the scriptures.

If purified food chemicals through biotechnological techniques have traditional equivalents that are halal, they are also halal.

Consequently, products such a monosodium glutamate, citric acid and lactic acid are produced through biotechnology are halal provided they are free from prohibited contaminants.

Gene Products (Transgenically Produced Enzymes and Cultures):

Enzymes are widely used as biological catalysis in the food industry.

Some enzyme cultures are used internally in food products like bread and cheese, while other are used in intermediary media to carry out reactions to produce certain food products.

There are two distinct benefits of biotechnology reaped by the food industry;

Firstly by the biotechnology products have improved yields and decreased batch to batch variations in enzyme characteristics compared with those from traditional sources. Consequently, the cost of production for these food ingredients has decreased.

Secondly in some cases where traditional sources of such enzyme culture were unacceptable to Muslim consumers transgenically produced enzymes are permitted for use in the production of Halal foods.

For example bovine rennet produced from calves that have not been slaughtered according to Muslim requirements is not accepted by Muslim. Where as chymosin (the main enzyme found in rennet) produced microbally through transcription from the bovine chymisin gene is universally accepted by Muslims.

Free from contamination while prepared or processed with anything considered Najis (filthy).

HARAM

According to the current Islamic thinking, the following are considered Najis and therefore Haram (unlawful, prohibited):

Swine including all by-products.

Insects considered ugly or filthy such as worms, lice, flies, etc.

Animals with fangs such as tigers, lions, cats etc,

Birds that have talons with which they catch their prey such as owls, eagles, etc.

Animals which Islam encourages to kill such as scorpions, centipedes, rats etc,

Dogs

Animals which Islam forbids to kill such as bees etc.

Animals which have toxins, poisons or produce ill effects when eaten such as some fish etc.

Amphibian animals such as crocodiles, turtles, frogs etc.

Meat (limbs, tails etc.) which have been cut from a live animal.

Lawful animals not slaughtered according to Islamic rites. (Fish is exempt from slaughtering).

Carrion or dead animals.



2. Plant and their products.

(a) Poisonous Plant.

(B) Intoxicating Plant

3. Liquids and their products.

(a) Poisonous drinks

(B) Intoxicating drinks

4. Other matters and their products.

(a) Faeces and urine

(B) Placental tissue

© Blood

5. Halal Sources.
Products made from the following substances are Halal unless containing or come into contact with a Haram substance
All plant and their products

Certified Halal meat, poultry, game birds and animals.

All water creatures, fish, crustaceans and molluscs.

Egg from acceptable birds only.

Rennet from certified Halal slaughtered calves

Non animal rennet (NAR, culture)

Gelatine produced from certified beef skins and/or bones,

Animal ingredients certified Halal

6. Halal Slaughter.
The conditions required for Halal slaughter of animals and birds are:
The abattoirs or factory must be under the close and constant supervision of a religious organisation, namely AFIC.

The premises, machinery and equipment must be cleansed according to Islamic Shariah (law) before any production takes place.

The slaughterman must be a mature, pious Muslim of sound mind who understands fully the fundamentals and conditions relating to Halal slaughter and be approved by the religious authorities.

Only acceptable live animals and birds can be slaughtered.

Recite Tasmiyah ' Bismillah Allah O Akbar' or atleast name of ' Allah' is to be pronounced before Halal slaughter takes place.

The slaughter must be done manually using a sharp steel knife.

In case of Chicken, ducks and bird slaughter using a rotary mechanical blade, there must be three Muslim slaughtermen present. One slaughterman touching the birds physically before they go into the rotary cutting blade reciting name of "Allah" and the two Muslim slaughter men are to slaughter the birds that were missed by the blade.

Reciting name of 'Allah' is compulsory. The gap between the reciting must not be too long.

The Halal slaughter must be swift and complete.

Facilities must be available for rinsing the knife after each kill.

The slaughterman must sever the respiratory tract, oesophagus the jugular veins and carotid arteries.

The animal must be completely dead before any processing or skinning can take place.


HALAL CONCEPT

Within the Islamic religion, a strong emphasis is placed on cleanliness - both spiritually and in the context of food and drink.

For a food or drink product to be approved for consumption it must conform to the Islamic dietary laws as specified in the Qur'an, the Hadith (sayings) of the Prophet Muhammad, his Sunnah (tradition) and in the Fiqh (understanding) of the Islamic Jurists: Hanafi, Shafi', Maliki and Hambali.

The Qur'an has numerous injunctions instructing Muslims to choose and consume good and wholesome foodstuffs.

In the selection of food and drink, Islam has laid down three very important guidelines, namely;

Whether the consumption of the foodstuff is prohibited by Allah,

Whether the foodstuff is obtained through Halal or Haram means, and

Whether or not the material is harmful to health.


There are several factors that determine the Halal/Haram status of a particular foodstuff. Amongst others, it is dependent on its nature, how it was processed and where it originated from.

As an example, any pig product is considered Haram because the material itself is Haram. Whereas beef from an animal that has not been slaughtered according to Islamic rites would still be considered Haram.

Also Haram is food that has been stolen or acquired through unethical means. Islam also prohibits the usage of any materials that are detrimental to the spiritual or mental well-being of a person, such as alcoholic drinks and drugs.

The concept of Halal in Islam has very specific motives;

1. To preserve the purity of religion
2. To safeguard the Islamic mentality
3. To preserve life
4. To safeguard property
5. To safeguard future generations
6. To maintain self-respect and integrity.

Islam encourages its followers to choose Halal foods. This awareness is always propagated in Muslim societies and is strengthened by the widespread knowledge extolling the virtues of consuming clean and Halal foods.

Due to advancements in food technology and distribution, Muslims are more exposed to various ingredients and manufactured foods imported into Muslim countries.

The most common of these are food additives, gelatine, emulsifiers and rennet in cheese manufacture. The Muslim community would like to know whether or not the addition, the ingredients or the finished foods contain any Haram substance.

These products can become Halal if the raw materials are Halal and the process is compatible with the Islamic way.

To determine the Halal-Haram status of foodstuffs and other material, Islam has laid general guidelines on this matter, namely:

1. All raw materials and ingredients used must be Halal.

2. Naturally Halal animals such as cattle, goats etc., must be slaughtered according to Islamic rites, the rituals specify that the act must be performed by a mentally sound Muslim, to sever the blood and respiratory channels of the animal, using a sharp cutting tool such as knife.

3. The Halal ingredients must not be mixed, or come into contact with haram materials such as products from pig or dog during storage, transport, cooking, serving etc.

It must be understood that the production of Halal food is not only beneficial to Muslims, but also to food producers, by means of increased market acceptance of their products.

Manufacturers and exporters of Halal products can receive Halal certification for their products from AFIC.

MODERN PRODUCTS

In the modern processing of food, pharmaceutical and cosmetic products we cannot escape from the issue of food ingredients which originates from animals, especially additives and many of these are imported.

The ingredients are made from various sources, including Haram sources as well. The products from animal sources which may pose problems are given below:

1. Fresh Meat

There are many types of animals available and these may or may not be slaughtered according to the Islamic law. Some of these animals include chicken, duck, turkey, quail, cattle, goat, sheep, rabbit, venison.

2. Meat Products

Another important group of meat products are those using a mixture of pork and non pork raw material.

These include luncheon meat, salamis, various types of sausages etc. In these products pork fat is used instead of beef fat.

Of course these products are also available in a form which no pork or lard is added as in kosher salami and beef frankfurter's.

There are also available chicken and turkey roll. If these products contain pork or pork products and are not made from Halal slaughtered animals Muslims will not purchase them.

3. Offal Products

Example of these include liver, lungs, heart, intestines, tripe, brains and blood. Besides direct consumption, some of these can also be processed into value-added products.

Intestines in their wet or dry form can be used as casings for various types of sausages. All these must be from animals slaughtered in a Halal manner otherwise the whole product will not be acceptable.

Blood on the other hand is never acceptable under any circumstance.

4. Bone and Hide Products

Gelatine which is used in many food preparations is another important animal product. The main sources are skin and bones.

The production from skin basically involves an extraction process of several stages with increasing temperatures, filtration and concentration in a vacuum evaporator.

On the other hand production from bones would involve the removal of fat, demineralisation and extraction with dilute alkali.

Besides being a source of gelatine, bones when converted into bone meal and purified, is used as a natural source of calcium and phosphorus which can be used in paediatric food.

The hides of the cattle can be processed into edible crackers, while chicken skin can be emulsified to be used as ingredients in the production of emulsion type sausages.

Again if the bones and hides are not from the slaughtered animals these products can not be accepted. Pork and all pig products are prohibited.
Truly, to Allaah we belong and truly, to Him we shall return

Posted Image


#2
mos3ab

mos3ab
  • Members
  • 805 posts
  • Gender:Male

Current mood:
very nice article. why dnt u quote it and also put the link. its very important. i like ratings 9/10

#3
♥JaNNaH♥

♥JaNNaH♥

    Honorary Algerian

  • Moderators
  • 5,092 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:London

Current mood:
Ok I did :wink: Also a reminder to people about this:

To: Muslims worldwide


In the Name of Allah, Most Gracious, Most Merciful

Petition to Internationally recognise the Halal Trademark that guarantees a product which complies with the Islamic Sacred Law (the Shariah)



The time has now come for national and international governments to recognise the Halal Trademark that can then be recognised by manufacturers and consumers alike.

Halal is a vitally essential requirement of our faith and the Halal Trademark Symbol has been designed as a simple and effective way of enabling us, the consumers, to instantly recognise which products are Halal, such as Foods, Drinks, Catering products, Household goods, Cosmetics, Toiletries, Perfumery, Pharmaceuticals, Meat and Poultry.

As Muslims we are a large consumer power and should demand from manufacturers the Halal Symbol, which is our only trusted guarantee.

click on the link below and sign the petition if you want an internationally approved and recognised symbol, which will guarantee you are buying a halal product


http://www.petitiono...l/petition.html

#4
Saffron

Saffron
  • Girls
  • 488 posts
  • Gender:Female

Current mood: Tired
Very interesting but a bit scaring... I see that here is suitable only fish, vegetables, fruit and milk products.
What about meat? If, for example, here isn't suitable meat, then not eat meat at all or to raise animals or buy the live animals and to slaughter it by myself Posted Image Posted Image.
Don't waste your time and words vainly, both can't be returned back.
Posted Image

#5
Fatony

Fatony

    A Legal Algerian

  • Super Moderators
  • 6,558 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UAE

Current mood: Cheerful Contributor
saffron.. am not sure whether you are muslim or now.. But you can eat Kosher meat from any jewish butcher...if you can't find a muslim butcher. I know many muslims who buy kosher meat. don't buy meat from a regular christian or nonbelieving butcher.
There are people with experience and people with opinions. Listen to one, smile at the other.
Posted Image

#6
Saffron

Saffron
  • Girls
  • 488 posts
  • Gender:Female

Current mood: Tired

saffron.. am not sure whether you are muslim or now.. But you can eat Kosher meat from any jewish butcher...if you can't find a muslim butcher. I know many muslims who buy kosher meat. don't buy meat from a regular christian or nonbelieving butcher.


No, i'm not muslim yet (I care not about my self), i just interesting about it if i will have muslim guest one day... Will make food and my guest can't eat what i will prepare, it will be not pleasant....
I don't know, is here kosher meat, i didn't see yet. I seen kosher, but not meat, only conserved vegetables and fish :laughing:

#7
Fatony

Fatony

    A Legal Algerian

  • Super Moderators
  • 6,558 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UAE

Current mood: Cheerful Contributor
yeh just google it in your neighbourhood saffron. As for guests, fish is considered luxury. Calamari :P:P